Hey guys! So my first week of college ended about one and a half hours ago (yes, that's right. It's 1:30 and I'm still awake). I'm sitting on my bed under my warm, cozy covers listening to the rain outside my window. So far I like all my classes. I've even gotten used to living in a tiny room with another person. And I couldn't have asked for a better room mate. It's a little weird thinking that I'll be living in one room where the only place to sit is on my bed or on my desk chair. Also, if I hold out both arms I can touch both of our beds (just to give you an idea of how small my room is).
This week went by so fast! It feels like I've been living here way longer. I've pretty much gotten used to the college lifestyle. Actually, I love it! I've been ready for college for a while now (minus the whole leaving home thing. I miss my family! And my house. And my room. And my piano. And my cat. And my pool. And my bathroom. And my mom's delicious food...). I've been hanging out with Faisal A. and meeting new people. I'm really glad I'm in Grand Challenges because we all have something in common. And our Grand Challenges class has been pretty cool so far because all we do is work on team bonding. My team incidentally rocks. I've made friends with a few girls on my floor, and we always eat together. The food here is actually pretty good! There's a lot of variety, but they have almost the same thing every day. I guess that's why the upperclassmen get tired of it.
I walk a ton. Seriously. I think I'm starting to get shin splints. Yes. Just from walking. It's crazy. I like it though! Exercise is my friend. Also, I have to walk this hill called "Freshman Hill" a couple times a day. It's basically a really long, kind of steep hill. It's very infamous and everyone complains about it, but I kind of like that hill! It's not too hard to walk up and it's like a mini workout. Anyway, my parents came today and we just walked around campus. Tomorrow we are going to go to the CNN building, so I should probably get to bed soon. I really can't believe I'm still awake (I'm also hungry. It's the curse of too much exercise-walking! I'm always hungry now!!!!). I wonder if it has anything to do with the three cups of coffee I had today......nahhhh. I'm just going to list my classes for you guys so you know what I'm taking. My schedule changed a few times, so if you think you know what classes I'm taking, I am telling you right now that you're WRONG! MUAHAHAHAHAHA!
My classes:
1. BMED 1000
2. CS 1371 (computer science for engineering)
3. English 1102 (science fiction and ethics)
4. Math 1502 (calculus II)
5. MSE 2001 (principles and applied engineering materials)
6. Public Policy 4803 (this is my Grand Challenges class)
Also, I really like the college schedule. Mondays I have 3 hours of school; on Tuesdays I have 4.5 hours; on Wednesdays I have 4 hours; Thursdays I have 5.5 hours; and on Fridays I only have 2 hours.
Okay, I am going to try to reconstruct my room for you guys.
| So when you come in, this is what you see. |
![]() |
| This is the view from the back of the room. There's my closet, all nice and organized of course. |
| This is the view from my window. It's so lovely. And it's usually packed with cars and there are sirens every ten minutes. But I also have an awesome view of the skyscrapers at night. The lights peek through this tree in front of my window. It's pretty cool! |
| My bed. |
| I've been personalizing my room. I kind of ran out of pictures, but I will put more up! |
So I miss you guys and I can't wait to hear all about your college adventures!
With love from Georgia Tech,


